News & Election Videos

August 26, 2008

Van Hollen joined onstage by 50 House candidates

While the majority of leading Democratic recruits are back home in their districts, DCCC Chairman Chris Van Hollen will be joined onstage momentarily at the Democratic National Convention by 50 of the party’s congressional candidates— some better known than others.

The DCCC sent out a release publicizing eight of the most high-profile candidates who will be spotlighted this afternoon.

They are:

• Iraq war veteran Ashwin Madia (MN-03)
• New Mexico Public Regulation Commission Chairman Ben Ray Lujan (NM-03)
• Banker Christine Jennings (FL-13)
• Illinois Senate Majority Leader Debbie Halvorson (IL-11)
• Internet entrepreneur Jared Polis (CO-02)
• Miami-Dade County Democratic Party Chairman Joe Garcia (FL-25)
• New Jersey state Sen. John Adler (NJ-03)
• Former Hialeah Mayor Raul Martinez (FL-21)