News & Election Videos

Texas 22nd District


Nick Lampson*

Nick Lampson* (D)*

Bio | Campaign Site

Pete Olson

Pete Olson (R)

Bio | Campaign Site

Texas Snapshot

RCP House Ranking: Leans GOP

Presidential Race: Obama (D) vs. McCain (R)
Competitive House Races:

Key 2006 State Races:
Governor | TX-22

Polling Data

PollDateSampleLampson (D)Olson (R)Spread
Zogby10/20 - 10/22404 LV3653Olson +17

Race Summary

Rep. Nick Lampson won a very Republican seat in 2006 thanks to the resignation of House Majority Leader Tom DeLay (and the fact that no Republican appeared on the general election ballot). Despite a large fundraising edge over Pete Olson (R), a former chief of staff to Sen. John Cornyn (R), the heavy GOP lean of the district and Olson's talent as a candidate could spell defeat for the incumbent.

Previous Election Results

2006: Lampson (D) 52, Sekula-Gibbs (R) 42
2006*: Sekula-Gibbs (R) 62, Smither (Lib) 19
2004: DeLay (R) 55, Morrison (D) 41
2002: DeLay (R) 63, Riley (D) 35

2004: Bush (R) 64, Kerry (D) 36
2000: Bush (R) 67, Gore (D) 33